Self Care Wheel for Social Workers

As therapists we are often affected by the emotions and experience of our clients.  I have often become overwhelmed with emotion when sitting across from a client.  That feeling is proof that a transference has taken place.  

To feel a rush of emotion come over me in therapy – whether it be sadness, anger or anxiety, is to feel just a slice of what my client is feeling daily.  This position across the room from someone in need is humbling to me.  I am entrusted with this piece in their life that is hidden from so many.
However, I often have to remind myself that I can’t save people…I can only hold the emotions of my clients in order to truly understand and assist in positive change

I am writing this today, to remind myself and urge all social workers and clinicians out there to take self care seriously.

 We are the tools by which great therapy happens.  Remember to sharpen the tool, by taking care of yourself.  Add to the list of self care activities…don’t be afraid to add a personal therapist to the list.

c4f9eff736366652132e7983e274b09bMy list includes↠ ᴘɪɴᴛᴇʀᴇsᴛ: @ʜᴏʟʟʏᴇɢʀᴀʏ ↞:

Personal- Spending time with Family

Professional- Take more sick days

Physical- Kiss more

Psychological- Journal

Emotional- Buy myself more presents

Spiritual- Daily bile reading/ reflection journal

What do you think?

