WARNING: Do Not Read if you are already a Stressed Social Worker

Friday can not tick away fast enough…and I’m not even sure if that’s a good thing because there is so much on my plate.   My disclaimer is to protect those of us that are already fried.   Don’t get me wrong…I wouldnt have it any other way!  I love my job…but with this love comes this obligation…to be the best ever.  So many thoughts and expectations of myself  that I feel like I’m about to explode —  you know when you feel guilty because you just had a whole week off…so you should be rejuvenated but the slipping under, roll over and call it quits feeling is nipping at your heels.  Yeah that’s me…right now!  These are the thoughts running through my mind and the many hats I wear in my role as a middle school social worker:

  • middle school parent liaison
  • regular referrals
  • finding need for mobile food bank vouchers
  • attendance officer for middle school
  • tracking drop-outs
  • dealing with girls and self-esteem issues
  • working with cutters
  • meeting with alternative school students
  • filing truancy cases in court
  • following up on my truancy probation cases
  • individual cases
  • running a clothing closet
  • documenting everything
  • working with unaccompanied youth district wide
  • helping post secondary students transition to the community
  • educating the parents of those transition students
  • running groups at the transition campus
  • home visits
  • attending ARDs
  • updating school website information

I think…that’s all of it.  THERE I got it all out.  Now to prioritize it.  I can do this!lcswsign

1 Comment

  1. It’s always great to hear others struggle with it all. I am in the same boat and I wouldn’t change it for the world! The sighs of relief or the light bulb that goes on in a parent’s mind, or the child who drops by just to to say hi after we have helped is what I treasure and know I am doing what is needed!

What do you think?

