Commonly Abused Prescribed and Illegal Drugs

I have never been infomally introduced to drugs.  I was above the influence throughout high school…when most of my classmates smoked and drank.  Even in college, I kept away from the party mentallity…surprise surprise!  To no one that actually knows me.

My introduction to substances came during my stint as a counselor at a Juvenile corrections facility in San Antonio.  More specifically, I worked on the addiction unit, with males between the ages of 13 and 17, who were highly addicted.  Seems like kids are experimenting with substances at  younger ages theses days.  The trends are unbelievable.  I found the two charts below and I have found them very useful.   It’s helpful for social workers to have an easy view of the most commonly abused illegal and prescribed drugs.   Its on the TEST…so here you are.

Commonly Abused Prescription Drugs

Commonly Abused Prescription Drugs

Commonly Abused Drugs
Commonly Abused Drugs

 

learn more at

http://radar.boisestate.edu/index.php?route=product/category&path=56_59_73&count=134

What do you think?

