Intervention for identifying true self -Mask Making

Mask making can help patients discover how they feel about their true selves compared to how they believe others see them to represent a multitude of feelings and personas.While you can complete this activity in only one session, you can also stretch it to multiple sessions. Start with having client create two masks—one that represents how they are perceived and one that represents how they feel inside. Discuss the meaning of the differences in the masks and how the patient feels when wearing each. Have each patient talk about how he feels about his true self compared to how he feels in the mask presented to the world.
2 Comments

  1. Hi Lauren! I have really enjoyed reading your website. My name is Leigh Ann & I live in Tennessee. I lived in Mexico for 6 months and like to consider myself a wanna-be latina 😉
    I am also a social worker who does therapy for kids in schools. I do K-8th grade. I am studying for my LCSW exam and that is how I found your blog.
    I really love this idea about the masks! I am going to steal this idea and use it!
    Did you make the masks yourself or did you buy the plain masks somewhere like a craft store?
    Thanks again for your posts!!!

  2. I was fortunate enough to have the masks supplied by my previous employer [juvenile correctional facility]…many a fond learning experiences there!
    Funny I have never been to Mexico, but I have lived abut a year in TN. I worked in foster care during that time [toughest work ever]. Thanks for reading! Glad you enjoy my posts! Good luck on the exam…I will be taking it this fall. So many more preparation posts to come!

What do you think?

